• Hart Valley Drifters

    Folk Time

    November 11, 2016

    Round Records
Recorded live at KZSU Radio Studio A – Stanford University in Fall 1962.

This release contains Jerry Garcia’s earliest known studio session, and was recorded at Stanford University’s KZSU Studio A in Palo Alto, CA at the tail end of 1962. The mono recording was captured at 7 1/2 ips on an Ampex 350s tape recorder with a single studio microphone and no overdubs. The 1/4” full track master reel was used to master this release, but occasionally shows its’ age with minor flaws. Listen comfortably with our promise that every effort was made to produce this performance for release in a manner that honors the spirit of its creation


  1. Band Introductions
  2. The Roving Gambler
  3. Ground Speed
  4. Pig In A Pen
  5. Standing In The Need Of Prayer
  6. Flint Hill Special
  7. Nine Pound Hammer
  8. Handsome Molly
  9. Sugar Baby
  10. Clinch Mountain Backstep
  11. Think Of What You've Done
  12. Cripple Creek
  13. All The Good Times Are Past And Gone
  14. Billy Grimes, The Rover
  15. Paddy On The Turnpike (Boys, My Money's All Gone)
  16. Run Mountain
  17. Sitting On Top Of The World

  • Jerry Garcia (banjo, guitar, lead vocals)
  • Ken Frankel (banjo, fiddle, guitar)
  • Robert Hunter (bass, backing vocals)
  • Norm Van Maastricht (dobro)
  • David Nelson (guitar, backing vocals )

(0) Additional Personnel



Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


Separate names with a comma.

    140 characters


    Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.