• New Riders of the Purple Sage

    Bear's Sonic Journals: Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage

    January 17, 2020

    Owsley Stanley Foundation
More than 5 hours of unreleased live concert recordings from the earliest days of the band! This 5-CD set features nearly two-dozen songs never before officially released by the New Riders or the Grateful Dead, including several New Riders’ originals from a largely undocumented period in the band’s evolution.


  1. Six Days On The Road
  2. Henry
  3. Tiger By The Tail
  4. Don't Take Any Chances
  5. Connection
  6. Delilah
  7. A-11
  8. Garden Of Eden
  9. Hello Trouble
  10. Last Lonely Eagle
  11. Whatcha Gonna Do
  12. Jerry explains his instrument
  13. Kaw-Liga
  14. Sweet Lovin' One
  15. Fair Chance To Know
  16. Long Black Limousine
  17. All I Ever Wanted
  18. Truck Drivin' Man
  19. Lady Came From Baltimore
  20. Games People Play
  21. Introducing the Murdering Punks
  22. To Have The Hurting End
  23. I Am Your Man
  24. Henry
  25. Six Days On The Road
  26. I Am Your Man
  27. Last Lonely Eagle
  28. Whatcha Gonna Do
  29. Introducing the famous Bobby Ace
  30. Mama Tried
  31. Cathy's Clown
  32. Old, Old House
  33. Me And My Uncle
  34. Seasons Of My Heart
  35. Slewfoot
  36. To Have The Hurting End
  37. Games People Play
  38. Superman
  39. Saw Mill
  40. Only Daddy That'll Walk The Line
  41. Fair Chance To Know
  42. Mama Tried
  43. I Still Miss Someone
  44. Crossover
  45. The Weight
  46. Garden Of Eden
  47. Long Black Veil
  48. Death And Destruction
  49. Henry
  50. Fair Chance To Know
  51. The Race Is On
  52. Mama Tried
  53. Honky Tonk Women
  54. I Don't Know You
  55. Superman
  56. If You Hear Me When I'm Leavin'
  57. Louisiana Lady
  58. The Weight
  59. Portland Women

  • Jerry Garcia (pedal steel guitar, vocals)
  • John Dawson (guitar, vocals)
  • David Nelson (guitar, vocals)
  • Bob Matthews (bass)
  • Dave Torbert (bass)
  • Mickey Hart (drums)

(2) Additional Personnel

    • Bob Weir (guitar, vocals)
    • Will Scarlet (harmonica)

Album Notes

The performances begin on Jerry Garcia’s 27th birthday at the aptly-named Bear’s Lair in Berkeley and captures performances from 4 different venues on 9 different nights. The band consists of John “Marmaduke” Dawson (guitar, vocals), Jerry Garcia (pedal steel), David Nelson (electric guitar), Mickey Hart (drums), and Bob Matthews and Dave Torbert on bass. Highlights also include 9 songs with guest artist “Bobby Ace” Weir and two tracks with Will Scarlett on harmonica. This is history unvarnished, but it’s pure and spirited and filled with so many moments that will touch the hearts of NRPS and Grateful Dead fans.

Mastered from the original tapes captured by legendary Grateful Dead soundman, Owsley Stanley, a/k/a Bear, who is known for the purity of his “Sonic Journal” recordings. These tapes were transferred and restored to the most exacting audiophile standards, utilizing state-of-the-art Plangent Processes techniques to remove subtle timing distortions created by the recording and playback devices. The mastering was done by Jeffrey Norman (Mockingbird Mastering), long-time collaborator with the Grateful Dead and Owsley Stanley.

The 16-page booklet includes rare and previously unreleased vintage photographs and liner notes based on recent interviews with David Nelson and Bob Weir. Original cover art by Nina Stanley, Owsley’s daughter, based on a design by Starfinder Stanley, Owsley’s son.

“[This is] sitting around the bar drinking and fighting music — you can drink and fight” — Jerry Garcia

CD Track List:

Chapter 1 – August 1, 1969, Bear’s Lair, Berkeley, California (Set 2)

 Disc 1:

  1. Six Days On The Road
  2. Henry
  3. What’s Made Milwaukee Famous
  4. I’ve Got A Tiger By The Tail
  5. Don’t Take Any Chances
  6. Connection
  7. Delilah

 Bonus Tracks from Set 1

  1. A-11
  2. Garden of Eden
  3. Hello Trouble
  4. Last Lonely Eagle
  5. Whatcha Gonna Do

Disc 2:

  1. Zebra Dun
  2. Jerry Explains His Instrument
  3. Kaw-Liga
  4. Sweet Lovin’ One
  5. Fair Chance To Know
  6. Long Black Limousine
  7. All I Ever Wanted
  8. Truck Drivin’ Man
  9. The Lady Came From Baltimore
  10. Games People Play
  11. Introducing the “Murdering Punks”
  12. To Have the Hurting End
  13. I am Your Man
  14. Henry

Chapter 2 – August 28, 1969, The Family Dog at the Great Highway, San Francisco, California

Disc 3:

  1. Six Days On The Road
  2. I Am Your Man
  3. Last Lonely Eagle
  4. Whatcha Gonna Do
  5. Introducing the Famous Bobby Ace
  6. Mama Tried*
  7. Cathy’s Clown*
  8. Old Old House*
  9. Me & My Uncle*
  10. Seasons of My Heart*
  11. Slewfoot*

Bonus Tracks

  1. To Have the Hurting End (August 29, 1969)
  2. The Games People Play (August 29, 1969)
  3. Superman (August 30, 1969)
  4. Saw Mill* (August 30, 1969)

Chapter 3 – October 14, 1969, Mandrake’s, Berkeley, California

Disc 4:

  1. Only Daddy That’ll Walk the Line
  2. Fair Chance To Know
  3. Mama Tried
  4. I Still Miss Someone
  5. Crossover
  6. The Weight

Bonus Tracks

  1. Garden of Eden (October 15, 1969)
  2. Long Black Veil (October 15, 1969)**
  3. Death and Destruction (October 15, 1969)**

Chapter 4 – June 4, 1970, Fillmore West, San Francisco, California

Disc 5:

  1. Henry
  2. Fair Chance To Know
  3. The Race Is On*
  4. Mama Tried*
  5. Honky Tonk Women*

Bonus Tracks

  1. I Don’t Know You (June 5, 1970)
  2. Superman (June 5, 1970)
  3. If you Hear Me When I’m Leaving (June 5, 1970)
  4. Louisiana Lady (June 5, 1970)
  5. The Weight (June 5, 1970)
  6. Portland Woman (June 7, 1970)

* Bobby “Ace” Weir
** Will Scarlett



Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


Separate names with a comma.

    140 characters


    Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.