• New Riders of the Purple Sage

    Vintage NRPS

    October 01, 1986

Archive live material recorded on February 21 and 23, 1971 at the Capitol Theater in Port Chester featuring Jerry on pedal steel guitar.


  1. I Don't Know You
  2. Cecilia
  3. Whatcha Gonna Do
  4. Dirty Business
  5. Fair Chance To Know
  6. Garden Of Eden
  7. Portland Woman
  8. Honky Tonk Women

  • Jerry Garcia (pedal steel, guitar)
  • John Dawson (guitar, vocals)
  • Dave Torbert (bass, vocals)
  • David Nelson (guitar, vocals)
  • Spencer Dryden (drums)

(0) Additional Personnel

    Album Notes

    In the early 1970’s the New Riders of the Purple Sage had the good fortune to be opening for the Grateful Dead on concert tours throughout the country. We had jut formed the band around our longtime friendships and John Dawson’s new songs. Green kids for the most part, the New Riders were virtually dazzled and amazed night after night. The audiences were fantastic and they solicited many an inspired performance from each and all of us. Everyone involved felt this to be a very special time. And it was.

    This album is a piece of that very time. February 21 and 23, 1971 – Capitol Theater, Port Chester, NY

    « PREVIOUS     NEXT »


    Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


    Separate names with a comma.

      140 characters


      Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.