• Grateful Dead

    Dylan & the Dead

    February 06, 1989

Single CD of material taken from the Dylan / Grateful Dead sets of 1987.


  1. Slow Train
  2. I Want You
  3. Gotta Serve Somebody
  4. Queen Jane Approximately
  5. Joey
  6. All Along The Watchtower
  7. Knockin' On Heaven's Door

  • Bob Dylan (guitar, harmonica, vocals)
  • Jerry Garcia (guitar, vocals)
  • Mickey Hart (drums)
  • Bill Kreutzmann (drums)
  • Phil Lesh (bass)
  • Brent Mydland (keyboards, vocals)
  • Bob Weir (guitar, vocals)

(0) Additional Personnel

Album Notes

There were six Dylan & The Dead shows in 1987. The shows were;

– Foxboro, July 4, 1987
– Philadelphia, July 10, 1987
– East Rutherford, July 12, 1987
– Eugene, July 19, 1987
– Oakland, July 24, 1987
– Anaheim, July 26, 1987

The album tracks are taken from the following shows;

– Slow Train and Joey – July 4, 1987
– Queen Jane Approximately – July 19, 1987
– I Want You – July 24, 1987
– Serve Somebody, All Along The Watchtower, and Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door – Jul 26, 1987

The album was mixed by Garcia and John Cutler, with some input from Dylan. Garcia commented on Dylan’s contribution in an interview with Rolling Stone; “When you’re collaborating with Dylan and he says ‘Hey, I think that my voice is too out front,’ what am I going to do? Punch him? I’ll say ‘okay’ against my own instincts.”

Tapes of all the Dylan & The Dead sets circulate. Material from the pre-tour rehearsal at Club Front in San Rafael also circulates on tape.



Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


Separate names with a comma.

    140 characters


    Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.