Show Details

Laker Hall (State University of New York)

Oswego, NY


Jerry Garcia Band

February 17, 1980

»rate this show

not yet rated

Set List

Set 1

  1. I'll Take A Melody
  2. Friend Of The Devil
  3. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  4. Catfish John
  5. Deal
  6. Positively 4th Street
  7. That's All Right, Mama

Set 2

  1. Money Honey
  2. Sitting Here In Limbo
  3. Let It Rock
  4. After Midnight >
  5. Eleanor Rigby Jam >
  6. After Midnight
  7. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  8. The Harder They Come

  • Jerry Garcia guitar, vocals

  • John Kahn

  • Ozzie Ahlers

  • Johnny de Fonseca

Additional Acts:
  • Robert Hunter

Show Facts

Robert Hunter replaced Rachel Sweet as the opening act.

  • member rating:

    avg avg ( votes)
  • your rating:

    click to rate


User avatar

Tom Banjo | Friday, March 6th, 2020

This is a long show, and Jerry just shreds. Although he sounds a tad tired at the start, he picks up steam quickly and every song is a barn-burner. There are longer versions of so many tunes. Catfish John, I’ll Take A Melody, clock in at playing times that astounded me, but the number of 10+ minute tracks is amazing. The Positively 4th street is shorter than some of the late 79 versions from the west coast, but still as epic, and the Sitting in Limbo is lovely.
This lineup adds a Money Honey that is fantastic and bouncy that may or may not have been played during many of the shows on the tour, but is an early version and doesn’t have the elongated ending of the 90s tours.
The After Midnite>ERigby>After Midnite is a 22 minute masterpiece and may be my favorite. (I admit that the one I love the most is usually the one I am listening to).

User avatar

John Fleet | Friday, April 6th, 2018