Show Details

Fillmore East

New York, NY


Grateful Dead

September 17, 1970

»rate this show

not yet rated

Set List

Set 1

  1. Truckin' False Start
  2. Truckin'
  3. Monkey And The Engineer
  4. Dark Hollow*
  5. Friend Of The Devil*
  6. Ripple*
  7. Brokedown Palace
  8. Box of Rain*
  9. Rosa Lee McFall*
  10. Cold Jordan** >
  11. Swing Low (Sweet Chariot)**

Set 2

  1. Sugar Magnolia
  2. Dark Star >
  3. Saint Stephen >
  4. Drums >
  5. Good Lovin' >
  6. Drums >
  7. Good Lovin'

Show Notes

* w/ David Nelson
** w/ John Dawson and David Nelson

  • Jerry Garcia guitar, vocals

  • Bob Weir
    guitar, vocals

  • Phil Lesh
    bass, vocals

  • Bill Kreutzmann

  • Mickey Hart

  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan
    keyboards, harmonica, percussion, vocals

Additional Acts:
  • New Riders of the Purple Sage

Show Facts

First "Box of Rain".

  • member rating:

    avg avg ( votes)
  • your rating:

    click to rate


User avatar

Ricky Lieberman | Sunday, September 27th, 2015

When Jerry says “The place is a shambles” before they really get playing, he was kicking a balloon off the stage. On Box Of Rain he played grand piano (also on Brokedown), Nelson played lead, Torbert played bass, Lesh played acoustic, Pig played organ. Pig played the piano on Truckin’.