• Jerry Garcia Band

    Pure Jerry: Theatre 1839, July 29 & 30, 1977

    June 01, 2004

    Jerry Made
3 CD archive release of music from the Jerry Garcia Band shows at the Theatre 1839, in San Francisco on July 29 and 30, 1977. This is the first in a proposed series of archive Jerry Garcia releases.


  1. Mystery Train
  2. Russian Lullaby
  3. That's What Love Will Make You Do
  4. Stir It Up
  5. Simple Twist Of Fate
  6. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  7. Catfish John
  8. Friend Of The Devil
  9. Don't Let Go
  10. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  11. They Love Each Other
  12. I Second That Emotion
  13. Let Me Roll It
  14. The Harder They Come
  15. Gomorrah
  16. Tore Up Over You
  17. Tangled Up In Blue
  18. My Sisters And Brothers

  • Jerry Garcia (guitar, vocals)
  • Donna Jean Godchaux (vocals)
  • Keith Godchaux (keyboards, vocals)
  • John Kahn (bass)
  • Ron Tutt (drums, vocals)

(0) Additional Personnel

Album Notes

The back cover of the CD includes the following information:

As the Jerry Garcia soundboard tapes of July 29 and 30, 1977 are incomplete, the CDs contained herein compile the best performances among those available. Please accept our assurance that every step has been taken to overcome the various challenges presented by 27 year old 7.5 ips reel tapes – mysterious interferences, frustrating omissions, and some sticky stuff of unknown origin – in order to transfer, edit and master this music in a way that faithfully celebrates its original performance.



Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


Separate names with a comma.

    140 characters


    Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.