• Grateful Dead

    Anthem of the Sun

    July 18, 1968

    Warner Bros.
The second Grateful Dead album. A composite of live and studio recordings.

  • Tom Constanten (prepared piano, piano, electronic tape)
  • Jerry Garcia (lead guitar, acoustic guitar, kazoo, vibraslap, vocals)
  • Mickey Hart (drums, percussion)
  • Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion)
  • Phil Lesh (bass, trumpet, harpsichord, guiro kazoo, piano, timpani, vocals)
  • Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (organ, celesta claves, vocals)
  • Bob Weir (rhythm guitar, 12 string guitar, acoustic guitar, kazoo, vocal)

(0) Additional Personnel

    Album Notes

    After recording their first album quickly, the second took many months to put together, firstly with largely unsuccessful studio sessions then with lengthy assemblage of material from live shows.

    Producer Hassinger bailed out part way through the process supposedly after Weir requested “the sound of thick air” during Born Cross-Eyed.

    It’s thought that the majority of the live music used on this album is from the February 14, 1968 show at the Carousel, though this is much overdubbed with parts from other shows.

    The named parts of  “That’s It For The Other One” were made up, mainly by Tom Constanten, for publishing purposes.

    « PREVIOUS     NEXT »


    Widen your circle by inviting friends to join you in the Parking Lot and experience Jerry together. You can find them in the Lot, on Facebook, or invite them via email.


    Separate names with a comma.

      140 characters


      Stay in the loop with email updates and find out about the latest releases, upcoming events, and news from Jerry's family and friends.